Skip to content ↓


In Reception we follow the Letters and Sounds phonics scheme. This is rigorous and systematic phonics programme which helps children to learn to read and spell well. This is split into the following Phases:

Phase 1 - develops childrens abilities to listen to, make, explore and talk about sounds. This phase is split into 7 aspects that are explored and developed through games. 

Aspect 1 - General sound discrimination – environmental

Aspect 2 - General sound discrimination - instrumental sounds

Aspect 3 - General sound discrimination - body percussion

Aspect 4 - Rhythm and rhyme

Aspect 5 - Alliteration

Aspect 6 - Voice sounds

Aspect 7 - Oral blending and segmenting

Phase 2 - children learn the following sounds:

Set 1 - s a t p

Set 2 - i n m d

Set 3 - g o c k

Set 4 - ck e u r

Set 5 - h b f ff l ll s ss

Phase 3 - children learn the following sounds:

Set 6 - j v w x

Set 7 - y z zz qu

Consonant digraphs - ch sh th ng

Vowel digraphs (and trigraphs) ai ee igh oa oo ar or ur ow oi ear air ure er

Phase 4  - focusses on blending and segmenting words with adjacent consonants.

The Phonics Co-ordinator in school is Mrs Dufton, who is happy to help and provide any extra support if needed.